Tennessee Gun Laws
A hand gun instructor explains Tennessee gun laws.
The arrest of an East Tennessee woman in New York City for bringing a hand gun to the September 11th Memorial is raising questions about Tennessee’s hand gun laws.
Tony Williford owns Global Pawn and Loan in Lenoir City. He’s also a licensed hand gun permit instructor in Tennessee who knows the laws.
Federal law states people can only purchase hand guns in the states where they live. That means Tennessee residents can only buy hand guns in-state, and out-of-state residents cannot purchase a gun in Tennessee.
“You have to have a hand gun permit to carry a gun in the State of Tennessee on you,” explained Williford.
Tennessee’s hand gun carry permits are recognized in 19 other states, and anyone 21-years and older can own a gun. Getting a permit to carry it means taking an 8 hour course and passing a background check.
“It’s four hours range time, and four hours classroom time,” said Williford. . . .